Light

I found a small, hand-blown glass vessel with an iridescent sheen at a local thrift store, and I’m currently using it as a candle holder.  I love the rainbow colors it produces both from natural light and candle light.  I posted it on my photography blog, but I thought I’d post it here as well and include some quotes.

Image

“Don’t feel bad if people remember you only when they need you.  Feel privileged that you are like a candle that comes to their mind when there is darkness.”  –Unknown

“I believe we lose influence if we never celebrate the good.  ‘It is not enough to curse the darkness; we must also light a candle.’” - Bill Monroe, president of Baptist Bible Fellowship International with a quote similar to that of Eleanor Roosevelt

“Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house.”  —Matthew 5:15 KJV

“Faith, like light, should always be simple and unbending; while love, like warmth, should beam forth on every side, and bend to every necessity of our brethren.”  —Martin Luther, pastor and reformer

“At times our own light goes out and is rekindled by a spark from another person.  Each of us has cause to think with deep gratitude of those who have lighted the flame within us.”  –Albert Schweitzer

“Work while you have the light. You are responsible for the talent that has been entrusted to you.” - Henri Frédéric Amiel (September 27, 1821 – May 11, 1881) was a Swiss philosopher, poet and critic; descendent of Huguenots

“Fear grows in darkness; if you think there’s a bogeyman around, turn on the light.”  –Dorothy Thompson

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

6 responses to “Light

  • Scott

    “So let your light shine among men..”

    Jesus Christ

    • Rene Yoshi

      Now, how could I forget that one? I thought of the children’s song, “This Little Light of Mine”, which is interesting, because our youth pastor mentioned it in his sermon this morning. Thank you, Scott, for the reminder!

  • Sandra @ Word (((HUGS)))

    All are beautiful quotes, but my favorite is the one by Albert Schweitzer. By the way, Rene, I am so very impressed by your photography skills. When viewing them, I feel the essence of your goodness in every photo.

    • Rene Yoshi

      I really like that quote by Schweitzer, too, because it reminds me of times my light has grown dim, but others have come alongside and rekindled it.

      Thank you so much for your kind words concerning my photography skills and character. Any goodness you see in me is a result of the mercy, grace and love I believe God has shown and is teaching me. There’s still some badness in me that wars with the goodness, so I am grateful He is patient.

  • jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com

    Truthful post.Its the bitter sweet reality ,they call you only when they need you ,l am learning.Warm regards.jalal

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 636 other followers

