Where’s the Fruit

Ripening FruitI’d procrastinated with getting my garden started this year; I could blame it on all the rain we’d been getting, and while it could be a valid reason, I have to take some responsibility too.  You see, I had meant to purchase some mature tomato plants but… I procrastinated with doing that, also.  Even though my neighbor gave me some tiny plants started from seed it looked like I wouldn’t be seeing any tomatoes this year.

However, I went to a perennial garden on an outing with a ladies’ Bible study group and I was so blessed to find some tomato plants being given away… FREE!  They looked a bit ‘leggy’ but they already had fruit and they were  f-r-e-e!  I wasn’t about to look a gift horse in the mouth but rather saw them as a precious gift from my heavenly Father.  He sends rain on the just and on the unjust… on compulsives and procrastinators alike… even procrastinators like me who have proven to be less than diligent stewards.

Anyway, when a friend and I were talking about gardens and veggies before I’d gotten the free plants, I’d mentioned my tiny seedlings and lamented about the probability of not harvesting any fruit.  He’s an experienced gardener and told me to use 10-10-10.  I reasoned it must be fertilizer, but I asked if it was like Miracle Gro®.  He confirmed it was fertilizer but that I shouldn’t use the miracle plant food because it tends to produce a lot of foliage and little fruit.  After doing some research I learned that too much nitrogen will produce lots of leaves but the plant will either not blossom at all or it will produce very few.

Hmm… we can be like that as Christians sometimes, can’t we?  We do things to make ourselves look very mature, but without the right heart attitude and being guided by the Spirit we end up like a lush tomato plant with lots of leaves and little fruit.  I’d rather have fruit and few leaves than no fruit at all, just like my free tomato plants.  I mean, after all, what’s the purpose of having tomato plants anyway?  To make my garden look good so I can show others what a great gardener I am, or to enjoy its fruit?  So… are we nourishing others with our fruit, or do they go away hungry?

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

5 responses to “Where’s the Fruit

Leave a Reply

