Love Sometimes Comes in Waves

My Father's LoveDo you ever wonder if God really loves you?  Or have you ever felt unworthy of His love?

I attended my 30th class reunion last month and was also able to spend some time with my mom, as well as a week on the beach by myself.  A business associate owns a condo right on the beach, so I took the opportunity to stay there and use the time to reflect on things.

One day while strolling down the nearby pier, I noticed the beach seemed to end in the distance, so I decided to check it out the next day.  It was cloudy when I started, so I didn’t think I’d need sunglasses.  But by the time I was nearing the inlet where a few fisherman had driven their four-wheel trucks to take advantage of the location, the sun was peeking through the clouds and creating some glare.  I wished I’d brought my sunglasses.  As I reached the inlet, I spotted a pair of sunglasses in the waves!  They were women’s sunglasses!  While I hadn’t offered up a prayer for them, I thanked my Father all the same.  What a pleasant and unexpected surprise!

The next day I decided to walk in the opposite direction to check out the boardwalk.  I wanted to feel the sand between my toes, so, with a little red plastic child’s bucket in hand for shells, I started off with my flip flops in the bucket not knowing if I’d need shoes in one of the shops.  A short way into the walk, the bucket handle developed a crack which eventually turned into a break.  I attempted to hold the handles together and carry the bucket normally, but the broken ends kept sliding apart.  How inconvenient.  Remembering God’s provision of the sunglasses, this time I prayed and asked if He would send something to hold the handles together.  I kept watching for some twine or seaweed or something similar as I continued to walk.  Suddenly something red in the waves caught my attention – a small deflated red balloon matching my little red bucket!  I chased it down and tied it to the broken handles; the stretchy rubber was the perfect material to hold the handle halves together and keep them from slipping.  Thank you, Father, for expressing Your love to me during a time of physical, emotional, and spiritual need.

If you wonder why similar things have never happened to you, or maybe think I make far too much of ‘coincidental’ provision from God, perhaps it might be good to consider the Person of the God of the Bible.   The song You Love Me Anyway by Sidewalk Prophets comes to mind… “With this sin in my heart tried to bury Your grace, And then alone in the night, I still called out for You, So ashamed of my life, my life, my life, But you love me anyway…”  And like Casting Crowns wrote in Who Am I?, “Not because of who I am.  But because of what You’ve done.  Not because of what I’ve done.  But because of who You are…”

God loves you, too, and He’s waiting to express His love to you.  It probably won’t be in the same way or even a way you expect, but maybe you should go for a walk or take some alone time to reflect on things, and keep your eyes… and ears open.  “The LORD is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit.”  (Psalm 34:18)

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

2 responses to “Love Sometimes Comes in Waves

Leave a Reply

