The Master Craftsman

Image

Yesterday as I was resting in a hammock and trying to practice the spiritual discipline of solitude and silence and seeking God, a brief vision came to mind of wood being turned on a lathe.  As I saw small shavings and sawdust being cast off into the air, the feeling that God is turning and shaping me into something beautiful came to mind.  And though the instruments are sharp, I can rest in the knowledge that the Master Craftsman will never suddenly gouge too deeply or begin the process too soon.  My Heavenly Father knows what I am made of; some parts are so very sensitive and respond to his shaping instantly while others, perhaps more dense, need more time.

I want to seek Him; I need to seek Him as, the Psalmist declared, the thirsty deer seeking cool, clear water.  I need it even when my feelings rebel at the idea because I’m too tired or busy.  My feelings may change moment-by-moment, but the Lord never changes.  Despite what I might feel or view about His work, He has given me a solemn promise that I will come out – at the end – like His Matchless Son, the Lord Jesus Christ.

Because He never lets me down, I am able to patiently endure his shaping and crafting.  At times the process seems so…so inexorable but, I know it is worth it all because His Word has declared it so.  Thank you, Father, for Your presence and continued work in my life.

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

6 responses to “The Master Craftsman

Leave a Reply

