If You Don’t Care, Why Should I?

Image

If you don’t care, why should I?  Or if I don’t care, why should you?  Have you ever felt either of those before?  Why should we care if the other person doesn’t?  Because it’s something we believe in.   Because it’s important.  Because of love.

Oh, I know there are times when we can continue to love and yet stop doing things that others don’t seem to care about anyway.  But sometimes we think others don’t care when they actually do, but maybe not to the same degree.  Or maybe immaturity or a lack of training  makes them seem like they don’t care.  Or maybe because we have always taken care of something, others simply trust we will continue to do so and not take up the responsibility or ownership of it.

What if someone really doesn’t care?  What might bring them to that place?  I know for myself, when I am tempted to throw my hands up in the air and stop caring, it’s because I feel discouraged and alone, I feel a lack of support or interest from others, or I feel misjudged.  If no one else cares, why should I?   I think it’s the same reason people ask, “If I don’t care, why should you?”  They have already felt a sense of abandonment, and sometimes they even become self-destructive.  They have already felt like no one else cares, and a part of them stops caring too.  Think about it.  If everyone took that position, then no one would care, and it would create a vicious cycle.

Why should we care?  Because some things are important, because it’s what we firmly believe in, because there are some things in this world that are worth caring for, simply because of their intrinsic value and nature — if we don’t, then who will?

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

12 responses to “If You Don’t Care, Why Should I?

  • Ralph

    Hi Rene. Well I care. And I care about you my dear friend. Hugs. Ralph x

  • Kris

    And, sometimes, the other person seems apathetic because they may not know that we still care. Walls can be built up both intentionally and unintentionally. Prayerfully seeking how to both provide and be God’s best for the other person is so key…that sort of love breaks down walls. It also models the reckless love Christ showed for us in that “while we were yet sinners Christ died for the ungodly..” because of love. Speaking of love…I love you ❤

  • utesmile

    I think there is nobody out there, who doesn’t care , that is just not possible, everybody has a heart, but some might not show. I care a lot about others and I like your blog. Thanks for stopping by at mine!

    • Sweet Rains

      I think everyone cares about something, but I’ve seen parents who care more about themselves than their children. It’s sad when fathers neglect their children, but it blows my mind when mothers abandon them and show no concern whatsoever.

      I can tell you care a lot about others and have a desire to bless others and make this world a better place. Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a comment!

  • Samuel

    Thanks for your thought-provoking comments. Not caring is infectious.

    🙂

    Care doesn’t always come easily, especially if we are burdened down with our own. In the middle of all the cares of this life we can become insensitive to the needs of others. Sometimes we go out of our way to help others and get it thrown back at us. On top of all that there are times when we really do struggle to the point if tears and no one shows up! But we have not learned Christ in this way.

    I’ve been thinking a lot recently about the Lord’s Table and what it really means to gather together in true remembrance. True unity spills back into our daily lives: “…there [should] be no division in the body, but [we should] have the same concern for each other. So if one member suffers, all the members suffer with it; if one member is honored, all the members rejoice with it” (1Cor 12:25, 26 HCSB).

  • Sweet Rains

    Thank you, Samuel, for visiting and leaving a comment. You sound like a pastor, lay leader, or someone who is quite familiar with ministry, although I noticed your own blog says you are not a teacher.

    Concerning the Lord’s Table and His body, I have had the same thoughts, especially when I see and hear of ‘parts’ feeling useless, less important than others, forgotten, or unsupported. It should not be so in the body of Christ. Thank you for the reminder. 🙂

  • Samuel

    No, definitely not a teacher in the sense of a gift to the local church. Too many opinions! But in a way we are all teachers. We can all share who we are when we interact in the simple things. There’s a lot of common ground in Him, and it can be corrective too – and humbling! That’s why I read blogs like this one.

    Hope the photography is going well. Maybe you’ve been capturing those fantastic Fall colours.

    • Sweet Rains

      Yes, I agree, we are all teachers in some way, and we can each learn from one another. You have already taught and been an example to me, Samuel. I hope you are doing well and enjoying the beauty in your country as well. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

