Happy Birthday, Chris

Image

My first-born son had an accident yesterday, and I’m so grateful he’s still here to celebrate his 25th birthday today.  Instead of losing his legs or even his life, he came away from the accident with a scraped ankle and a non-displaced fractured heel.  Even though he was in a lot of pain yesterday, he laughed and said, “Well, at least I’ll have the day off on my birthday.”  His foot is terribly swollen, and he’s still experiencing a lot of pain off and on, but he’s doing well today.  Prayers for a quick recovery would be much appreciated.

I am so thankful the Lord blessed me with Chris, when it seemed I might not be able to have children– then He blessed me with two more.  Chris is a very intelligent, soft-spoken, considerate young man with a dry, covert sense of humor and a tender heart.  He is becoming a strong, supportive man, as well as my friend.  Thank you, Lord, for Your mercy and grace in allowing me to be his mom and for watching over him, especially yesterday, and giving me another day with him.

Happy birthday, Chris.  Thank you for being a wonderful son.  I love you.

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

9 responses to “Happy Birthday, Chris

  • brentkilgore

    Happy Blessed Birthday and many Prayers! 🙂

  • Samuel

    That must be very painful indeed. He looks strong and fit so I hope he recovers really quickly. He’ll have more than one day off I’m sure. Good thing he has you.

    Family is so precious. I’ve just the one daughter myself and she’s been all over the world on her own. I’d lose sleep about it if I thought it over for too long!

    • Sweet Rains

      Yes, Samuel, he’ll have at least a couple of weeks off.

      Family is, indeed, precious. My daughter would be all over the world, too, if it were not for hypoadrenia, although she doesn’t let it stop her altogether. I know what you mean about losing sleep if we think about it too long, but knowing they have a Father in heaven who loves them more than I, helps me rest in that knowledge. Thank you so much for your kind words.

  • utesmile

    A very loving post, as I understand i see my children as gifts from the Lord. Wishing your son good recovery and strength for both of you. Good to have him near you and still celebrate his birthday together. All the best!

  • Word (((HUGS)))

    Like you, I have a 27 year old son that I didn’t think I would ever have. I had severe infertility problems when I was young. In the end, I was blessed with three children to love. I understand completely your devotion to your child(ren). They are blessings and gifts that keep on giving. I’m happy for you and your son that you can continue in life together. I’ll say a prayer for his full recovery. You write beautifully, by the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

