The Ubiquitous Pomegranate

ImageLet us get up early to the vineyards; let us see if the vine flourish, whether the tender grape appear, and the pomegranates bud forth: there will I give thee my loves.”  –Song of Songs 7:12

Of all the symbolisms the pomegranate holds, the most common across religions and cultures is fertility.   And like most religions, the pomegranate, too, seems to have originated in the Middle East and reproduced across the world.  Buddhism has a legend in which a pomegranate cured a demoness of an evil habit, the prophet Mohammed is said to have encouraged its consumption to ward off envy and hatred, and Hindus offer it to appease the goddess of retribution and justice. 1  It is a symbol of righteousness and fruitfulness in Judaism, and  Christians and Egyptians view it as a symbol of rebirth. 2   I find it fascinating that scientific studies have found the pomegranate to affect hormones, which in turn can have an effect on fertility and mood.  Not only that but ancient cultures also used the pomegranate medicinally. 3  I guess they weren’t as unevolved and unscientific as we’ve been taught to believe, especially since we are beginning to realize the amazing benefits of pomegranates once again.

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

10 responses to “The Ubiquitous Pomegranate

  • utesmile

    Interesting post, I recently bought one and I wasn’t sure how to eat it , but I have to say I didn’t like the taste. Shame it looked so nice really. Ute x

    • Sweet Rains

      I’m sorry you didn’t like its flavor. It does have a slight astringency from the pith and seeds along with the sweetness of its juice, so it can take a bit of getting used to. At least you can enjoy its beauty. Looking on the bright side is something I appreciate about you. Thank you, Ute!

  • George Shuman

    What an interesting post! I actually haven’t had a pomegranate in years. I remember, as a child, watching someone eat one and thinking it looked like some fruit ‘from another planet’. Thanks for the reminder about this wonderful little bit of healthful eating. I’m gonna go get some! The photo, as always, was ‘delicious’. g.

    • Sweet Rains

      A fruit from another planet? Yeah, I can see that. Another interesting tidbit is some religious groups believe it was the forbidden fruit in the Garden of Eden. Since our eyes have already been ‘enlightened’ to know both good and evil, I guess there’s really no way of knowing. Thanks, G!

  • Alan l Boles

    Growing up in New Mexico through the age of ten. I remember around six or seven, how a man would come by with a produce truck set up on both sides to display his produce, and I had my first taste of pomegranate, my grandson Nicholas brought some pomegranate seeds home from school and has been sucking on there juice. Thanks for my second stroll down memory lane in recent weeks.

  • Word (((HUGS)))

    Interesting! I love pomegranate and now I know a lot more about it. Thanks!

  • Anawawit

    My girls and I love pomegranate! That is so cool how it is associated with fertility and just now science is catching up to prove it. Great blog! Now I am going to have to go buy another one 🙂

  • Sweet Rains

    Thank you, Anawawit! I am continually fascinated when modern science catches up with ancient science, as well as things most people don’t know are included in the Bible. While being fertile is no longer a concern of mine, I’m hoping the pomegranate’s affects on hormones might benefit me and delay perimenopause.

Leave a Reply

