God Danced?

I wasn’t going to mention this to more than just a couple of trusted friends, because I didn’t want people to think I’m way out there.  But after one of my nieces posted something on her Facebook status that was somewhat similar, it prompted me to comment and share my own experience, which encouraged her, so I thought I would go ahead and share it here too.

While finishing up the dishes after a large meal a few weeks ago, I was also dancing to music and sharing some feelings with God when I got an overwhelming feeling that He briefly danced with me, and I mean a feeling so overwhelming that it actually startled me!  And the dancing wasn’t a waltz; it was upbeat and energetic.  God dancing?

Having attended mostly Baptist churches throughout my life, my first reaction was to consider if the thought was sacreligious, because Baptists do not dance!  Oh, I know that’s not true of all Baptists, but those who tend to be more traditional think that dancing, especially random dancing in pairs or groups, can lead to lusting and the temptation to further sin.

In the parable of the two sons, what did the older son hear as he approached the house?  (Luke 15:25)  “Music and dancing”.  What kind of dancing would have to be going on in order to be heard?  Have you ever seen Jewish people dance?  And who had called for the celebration?  The father, who in the parable represents God, the Father.  So yes, I believe God does dance, and I believe our Abba danced with me!

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

49 responses to “God Danced?

  • Especially Made

    Yes, we can dance to the glory of God! And I believe there will be worshipful dancing in heaven!

  • morningstoryanddilbert

    Amen to the Dancing!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  • Unshakable Hope

    I think you’re charismatic now, Rene:-) Dance on!

    • Rene Yoshi

      LOL… perhaps I am a bit, but having had experiences from Mennonite-type fellowships to the very charismatic Toronto Blessing in the mid-90’s, I find myself drawn back to Baptist doctrine, although not necessarily all of its traditions and practices. Thank you, Bill! 🙂

  • Randell Bell

    Charasmatic to me and certainly not for everyone was simply a label for a revival that was misunerstood, God’s Holy Spirit has always moved dramaticly throughout the ages when the church was in need of empowering, unfortunately sometimes it was taken to extremes and this was partly the churches fault by not being balanced. I too was part of the Spiritual revival and the Gifts which seemed to be foremost on everyones list, then called called me back to the Baptist church as a means of restoring balance in my walk and showing me that where ever there is Christian love and fellowship there is the Holy Spirit. He also showed me and Jesus and Paul under the anointing of the Holy Spirit bears this out that the fruits of the Spirit are greater than the gifts and some of those fruits are peace & joy, so dance for joy and be at peace. No disrespect to anyone; I was in the Charismatic movement of the 70s and have since also returned to my Baptist roots though I am at home in God’s house regardless of the denomination. 🙂

    • Rene Yoshi

      I agree that the Charismatic movement was birthed partly because of imbalances within the church and they sometimes go to extremes by focusing more on manifestations than on God’s Word and bearing fruit. Fundamental Baptist churches, on the other hand, in an attempt to distance themselves from that error, tend to avoid teaching about and being open to any manifestations of the Holy Spirit. I’m not concerned with denomination either. Thank you, Randell. 🙂

      • Randell Bell

        I was fortunate to belong to a Baptist church where the pastor encouraged Spiritual gifts and fruits but he has since left and I feel that balance is not the order of the day under the new leadership, but God is in control and I am His obedient servant. thanks for posting and replying. Rene 🙂

  • Katherine

    I am glad you told us. I hope one day He will dance with me too.

    • Rene Yoshi

      Aww, thank you, Katherine. He knows the desires of your heart, so don’t be surprised if one day you, too, are overcome with an overwhelming feeling that He did. ((hugs))

  • Carina Paula Arias de Méndez

    I used to attend a Pentecostal fellowship where the worship was loud and I felt the freedom to dance. I understand the Baptists’ reservations (certainly, you can be the most carnal Christian in church and still like dancing or singing and be the loudest, most boisterous, apparently cheerful member) but I did at times have a very real sense of God’s presence and an overwhelming joy while I was dancing. So your experience doesn’t sound as weird to me as to someone who hasn’t had experiences with physical expressions of worship.

    In the end, it all boils down to our deep motivation, and it is here that we need to pray to be ever more transparent before God, so that self-deceit doesn’t bring us to a place where we think we’re true worshippers when we’re not. Are we praying, singing, dancing, lifting our hands unto the Lord, only for His glory, just to express our joy and adoration? If so, then the actual physical expression is not as important as the heart behind it. May the Lord give us more spontaneity in our private and public worship, and and expression of love and joy in Him that really pleases Him and blesses us and others.

    • Rene Yoshi

      Amen! Thank you so much for sharing your own experiences and knowledge! Yes! What truly matters is the motivation and the heart behind it. And yes! As you said, “May the Lord give us more spontaneity in our private and public worship, and expression of love and joy in Him that really pleases Him and blesses us and others”! Blessings to you! 🙂

  • Peter Cottentail

    Merrill Unger represented the predominant view in the 1960s when he called the Charismatic Movement “widespread confusion.” He said: “When the Word of God is given preeminence and when sound Bible doctrine, especially in the sphere of the theology of the Holy Spirit is stressed and made the test of experience, the claims of charismatic Christianity will be rejected.”

  • optimisticgladness

    I have a secret too. Sometimes, I pull out a chair in my living room and ask Jesus to sit in it. (I know this sounds crazy) Then I would put music on and dance for Him. I can not express the joy and gratitude I have knowing He is pleased with me worshiping Him in this way. Thank you for sharing this sweet post.

  • Jennifer

    I love that you shared this beautiful moment you had with God. My favorite thing is that it was a display of love for you in that moment by your loving, real, personal Lord. So sweet!

    He has not danced with me, but I’ve often thought he was so near when I was drawing or singing or worshiping. I love those moments. I hope for more and more of them.

  • Matthew Curry

    I love this! I don’t have any problem believing that God danced with you! 🙂

  • johannisthinking

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sch4eqwizQU “Dance, dance, wherever you may be, for I am the Lord of the Dance…”just hearing this song, made my heart dance! I have two left feet! LOL Beautiful music and song! I think that the “intent” is an important aspect of any action, thought or movement…Dance is a gift given to many for free expression of the Spirit—I do not believe it is “sinful”. To illustrate my point, there is a story of two Buddhist monks who are on a pilgrimage of prayer, As they are walking in meditation, they come to a river. Beside the river is a beautiful lady. She needs assistance to cross over the river. One of the monks picks her up and carries her across and then continues on this pilgrimage in peace and silence. Finally, after five miles or so, the other monk says to the monk who assisted the lady, “How could you break you vow of celibacy and prayer, and pick up the woman and carry her across the river?” To which the second monk responds: “I left the woman down five miles ago.”

    • Rene Yoshi

      Thank you, Jane, for that beautiful illustration. It reminds me of the parable (Luke 10:25-37) that Jesus told of a man, knowledgeable concerning the Law, asked how to inherit eternal life. To the man, it was about keeping all the rules and regulations, but through the parable, Jesus revealed it was much more than that and had to do with the heart. In the story, both a priest and Levite passed by a severely wounded man, who’d been attacked by thieves. But a Samaritan, who was despised and considered to be ‘dogs’, not only stopped to help the man, but took him to an inn where he cared for him there, and when he had to continue on his journey, he gave money to the innkeeper to further care for the man, promising further to return and pay more if needed. Both the priest and Levite, who are considered very religious and closer to God, had failed to show mercy.

      • johannisthinking

        Yes…i had forgotten that story…but it quickly returned to my memory with your retelling…Yes, indeed! “…the heart” is the core of our being…thank you for your reminder!

  • heavenlyraindrops

    It only stands to reason that He would dance. David was a man after God’s own heart, and David danced!! Keep dancing!

  • dancinmoma

    Beautiful Words. I BELIEVE! 🙂 Dance On…..

  • kissingthedust

    I love to dance with Him- He is the most startling partner when He reveals Himself as “human”…we tend to think of Him as void of emotion- God is full of emotion- He feels, He laughs, He sings…and yes, He even dances…I loved this! It made my heart smile…

    • Rene Yoshi

      I agree! Too often people think of God, the Father, as either void of emotion or an angry judge, and that’s sad. Those who think that are missing out on such a rich relationship. Thank you so much for stopping by. I’m glad it made your heart smile! 🙂

  • g.

    Hey Sweets,
    We live in a wonderful world, made by a wonderful God. I’m not a dancer, (not since attending four high school proms in two years, about a hundred years ago), but I don’t consider it ‘wrong’ as some do. Yup, I attend a Baptist church, and understand their beliefs on the subject, but I disagree with them in that I am no ones judge, and they should not be, either.
    I am not comfortable with outward emotionalism and what I think of as showmanship in church… but you were not in church. You were in your home.
    I, of course, don’t know if God danced with you. I’m not sure that He did, but who am I to say that He did not? Only two know the answer to that… you… and He.

    luv ya,
    g.

    • Rene Yoshi

      Hey g,

      You haven’t danced since high school? How ’bout with L in the privacy of your own home or at a wedding reception? I appreciate your support, my friend. 🙂

  • utesmile

    This is a wonderful feeling when you know he is with you, even if it is dancing. Knowing he is there is the best. I love dancing and I love to come to me one day .

  • Sarah

    I’m nominating you for two awards. If you want to accept them, hop on over to http://mrsmendiola.wordpress.com/2013/05/09/liebster-and-very-inspiring-blogger-awards/ for all of the rules.

  • godcrazzzy

    LRL (Laugh Real Loud) this is not foreign to some of us – like me. Its happened numerous times to me with HIM. It’s one of those experiences that one has to get to truly understand. Keep dancing. Many Blessings! 🙂

  • Ann

    Hey, I wouldn’t worry too much about others thinking you are way out there because who is the one enjoying the moment dancing with God? 🙂

  • Caddo-Jael

    I LOVE THIS!!! God and I dance and sing and laugh–all the time (mostly, laugh–because I can’t sing or dance to save my life!!)! May the Lord bless you BIG today–love, sis Caddo

  • gleaningthenuggets

    I’ve had that experience many times. God is definitely a dancer!

  • Randomly Selected? Somehow, I Don’t Think So | Sweet Rains

    […] If you liked this, you might also like… God Danced? […]

Leave a Reply

