Come Alive

Have you ever felt dry and maybe even dead inside?  Or do you kill plants because you forget to water them?  A dinosaur plant was one of the things my son, Chris, gave me for Mother’s Day.  It was one of several unique, cool plant/garden gifts.  The dinosaur plant can remain alive without water for 50 years.  When it dries, it curls up, and because it has shallow roots, the wind can roll it along until it hits water, where it instantly begins to rehydrate. Cool, huh?

Image

The characteristics of it being ‘dead’ and coming back to life is somewhat reminiscent of the account of the valley of dry bones in Ezekiel 37 or of the graves opening and people being resurrected when Jesus died on the cross (Matthew 27:50-54).  I don’t want to make the solution to dryness of spirit and deadness of soul sound simplistic.  I hate when people say, “You’ve just gotta trust God,” as if it’s that simple.  Trusting God can take a small step of faith or a giant leap of faith depending on the circumstances, can’t it?  Sometimes we just have to start with one small step.  Sometimes when we’re curled up and feeling dead or like we want to die, we can start by asking God to breathe life into us, like He did in the valley of dry bones, or to send His Holy Spirit to blow us to a source of refreshing, life-giving water, like the wind does to the dinosaur plant.

If you are feeling dry or dead inside, I pray God would breathe life into you again, reanimate you, strengthen you, and give you insight and wisdom.  I pray He would refresh you and help you come alive.

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

12 responses to “Come Alive

  • Geraldine Van Biljon

    Amen and Amen!!! Such an awesome analogy!

  • A Gracious Life

    Thank you for sharing this, especially the video. Sometimes, it’s not enough that you believe. You have to take that certain step. Seek and you shall find. You must take that step to seek…=>

  • Randell Bell

    Having been in a spiritual desert for the last 2 yrs I have come to know how precious water is and how hard it can be to find some. God places His servants in places that are uncomfortable for them to test and strengthen their faith. Faith that can’t be tested can’t be trusted. So as with the prophets who were tested in the desert wilderness, we are in good company. I am grateful for the refreshing water that God’s Spirit has blown me to and caused me to bloom again, some of these were old friends and some of them are new 🙂
    , but all have helped me to see that the dryness and the desert is only for a season.

    • Rene Yoshi

      I’m sorry to hear you’ve been in a spiritual desert for the last two years, although like you indicated, going through a wilderness season can help strengthen our faith. I, too, am grateful for the refreshing water of friends, both old and new, that come alongside to encourage and water us. Thank you, Randell! 🙂

  • George

    Hi Sweets,
    Very interesting. I had never heard of a dinosaur plant, but the pictures actually looked a bit familiar. That is an amazing creation of God. Another similar example in the animal world is what we know as the ‘sea monkey.’ Those little brine shrimp are born from eggs that have to become wet and dry a certain number of times before they will hatch. According to what I have read, some of them are dormant for many many years before they hatch. Pretty cool.
    I loved your reference to ‘one small step, and one giant leap’, – words from my hero, Neil Armstrong. Sometimes having faith really can be a giant leap…..
    Keep up the great, insightful writing my friend.
    g.

  • Shofar

    Beautiful post and I love your photography!
    Where are you transplanted from- since you mentioned ‘ocean’? I love the mountains and ocean of which I am surrounded. I find looking out at the ocean very calming and refreshing. God bless you!
    -Liz
    ‘God’s Enduring Love’ http://heulu.wordpress.com

    • Rene Yoshi

      Thank you so much, Liz! I grew up near the coast of North Carolina. Blessings to you, too!

      • Shofar

        That is so interesting! I thought perhaps Asian and from Hawaii, but guessed wrong! If it’s O.K. with you I would like to reblog ‘Come Alive’ sometime. It is one of the best posts I’ve read. Your dinosaur plant made a great object lesson with your prayer of encouragement for your readers. \o/ ~Liz

      • Rene Yoshi

        I am part Asian, so you guessed partly right. My father was in the military, which is how I ended up in NC. I would be honored, Liz, if you reblog Come Alive. Thank you so much for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

