Wisdom Wednesday: Evidence

Image

“Yea, a man may say, ‘Thou hast faith, and I have works: shew me thy faith without thy works, and I will shew thee my faith by my works.” —James 2:18

Have you ever been taken, cheated, deceived?  Having wisdom can help us avoid being deceived.  It usually takes about seven years before a date palm starts producing fruit when planted by seed, and only about 50% of the seeds will produce a female tree which can produce fruit.  Not only that, but if you don’t know the difference between palm trees, how would you know if yours will grow dates and not areca nuts?  So just because someone claims a palm tree will produce dates, it is best to see some evidence before buying the tree or the land it is on.

The principle holds true with people as well.  People may say they are one thing or another, and some will be whatever is needed or popular at the time instead of being authentic.

“For every tree is known by his own fruit.”  —Luke 6:44

“…it’s what you do that defines you.” –Rachel Dawes in Batman Begins

“Yea, a man may say, ‘Thou hast faith, and I have works: shew me thy faith without thy works, and I will shew thee my faith by my works.”  —James 2:18

Evidence.

Although we are not saved from the penalty of sin by the things we do or do not do, but rather by what Jesus did for us, if we say we believe in and are followers of Jesus but don’t do what He said, where is the proof that we are actually His followers?  Many have been hurt or deceived by people or organizations claiming to be Christian.  While we are not to live lives of paranoia and suspicion, we are instructed to be “wise as serpents, and harmless as doves (Matthew 10:16).

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

10 responses to “Wisdom Wednesday: Evidence

  • Sandra

    Don’t tell me you’re a Christian; I’ll tell you if you’re a Christian. Ms. Rene, dad-gum-it … I believe you are a Christian! I am honored to know you and learn from you. LoVe.

  • Randell Bell

    Painted on smiles and greetings brother are no sound evidence of discipleship, niether are fancy crowded entertaining Sunday services that satisfy the soul, but not the heart or teaching that tickles the ears but does not aid a believer in their daily walk. A famous doctor and tv personality was asked if he was a Christian and he said no I am a follower of CHrist and I have begun to understand that saying more and more. We have become a society of labels and people tend to trust labels rather than actions. When I try on a shirt I always look at the label to guage the size but it doesn’t mean the shirt will fit or after a couple of washings it will remain the same size. Labels are often misleading. Do not judge me by one day or one action because King David had several bad days, but the bulk of his days were spent being obedient and faithful to the Lord

    • Rene Yoshi

      Yes! Thank you so much, Randell, for your comment! I especially appreciate your last statement. Although I myself claim to be a follower of Christ, I am not perfect, but I hope that people are able to see my heart and not judge me by one day or one action. I’m still a sinner, saved by grace. I’m so grateful for God’s patience and love!

  • g.

    Our lives truly are the evidence of what God has done for us and in us. Thank you for your loving support and many kind words, my friend, and thank you for Wisdom Wednesday.
    It is more than evident that Christ lives in you. 🙂

    g.

  • Geraldine Van Biljon

    Hey Rene, I nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogger Award! Your photo’s are sweet to the soul 🙂
    http://geraldinevanbiljon.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/a-kid-gone-wild-on-wayyy-to-much-candy/

  • Caddo-Jael

    I’m glad that God judges me by my righteousness in Christ, through faith–if man looks at me on a bad day, well, I’m sorry to disappoint, but my safety net is Jesus, always and forever. God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

Leave a Reply

