Thank You, God, Thank You

Image

Photo credit: Free stock photo – http://www.sxc.hu/browse.phtml?f=view&id=1185533

This morning on my way to do some grocery shopping, I found my mind wandering, so I refocused and asked the Lord to use me while I was out.  I finished shopping, put my groceries in the trunk and remembered I’d forgotten something, so I went back into the store.  They didn’t have what I was looking for, so I walked back out.  An older woman, whose truck was parked beside my car, looked a little confused and distressed, so I asked if I could take her cart for her.  She said, “There’s a baby in that car,” pointing to the one on the passenger side of her truck.

“What? Is it alone? Is there anyone else in the car?” I asked.

“No, and the windows aren’t cracked open either.  Poor little guy.  He must be getting hot in there,” she replied.

We tried the doors, but they were locked.  Then she decided to go to the customer service desk to have the car owner paged.  While I waited for either the woman or the car owner to return, I prayed about what to do.  Should I call the police?  I decided to wait and see what kind of person the car owner was, and I’m so glad I did.  The first woman returned, and as we stood by the car, we heard the page over the speaker system.  Just then, a woman exited the store, and when she saw us, her countenance registered fear and dread as she hurried over.  She had not heard the page, but remembered her grandson was in the car when she saw us standing there.

Apparently, she had dropped off her daughter at work, which is something she rarely does, and because her grandson was so quiet in the backseat, she forgot she had him when she went into the store.  She felt horrible as she realized what could have happened.  She scooped him up car seat and all, took him out, held him tightly, and cried.  I hugged her as she held her grandson, and both the other woman and I told her it was okay.  Because she was so terribly shaken, I asked if we could help her put the groceries in the car to which she gladly accepted.  We reassured her that these things happen sometimes, and she was obviously a good Grammie.  I said, “God was watching out for you both.”  She looked up to heaven and said, “Thank You, God, thank You.”

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

28 responses to “Thank You, God, Thank You

  • OneHotMess

    Wow! Thank you, God,indeed!

  • Valarie

    Thank God y’all were there! God works in great and mighty ways 🙂

  • Randell Bell

    Every child born is a gift of God; every child cherished is a gift of love every child watched over a gift of responsibility and every child gaurded and delivered from danger a gift of courage. The courage not to judge; a gift from God’s Holy Spirit.

  • theshepherdspresence

    I hope you won’t think it out of place to say this now: I’ve heard it as a joke that women over 50 should not have babies because they will put them down and forget where they put them!” I am glad that you did not hit the panic button and call the police. That Grammie will admonish herself for a good long time. Sure am thankful that the baby was fine and noticed when it was. Fortunately it came to her in time anyhow, “Oh, Oh, the baby!” and went dashing out to get him.

    • Rene Yoshi

      The most humorous things are the things of real life, especially when they don’t end in tragedy, so no, I do not think it out of place. I’m sure that Grammie will admonish herself for a good long time, too. I pray she doesn’t beat herself up over it. Thank you!

  • Sarah

    Makes me cry! Thank God for placing you all in the right place at the right time.

  • Sandra

    Oh my gosh, Rene, this story gave me chills and brought tears to my eyes. It could have turned out to be a tragedy if you had not been there. I feel for the grandma. I hope she doesn’t torture herself with guilt over “what could have been.” God bless her. God bless the woman with you. God bless you. Thanks for sharing. This post serves as a reminder to all of us about the importance of being present and aware as we go through our day.

  • Especially Made

    A simple prayer like, “God, use me” can yield amazing answers because we have an amazing God.

  • Victoria

    Oh my goodness, Rene! Look at the small details of this event! You had forgotten something, and went back into the store for it. Those few minutes made the difference for God’s timing to place you right there to immediately pray for what to do! Had it not been for those few minutes, you would have driven away. How beautifully God works in our lives and in the lives of others. Your prayer to ask God to use you was so answered. Thank you for reminding me of how valuable it is to ask God to use me too, each time I leave my home!

    Though the first woman went into the store to have a page done, your presence and prayer saved this stunned Grandma from having the police called on her.

    Thank you, God, for protecting this baby and his grandma!

  • heavenlyraindrops

    Oh, Rene. How frightening that must have been. How awesome the wisdom God gave you in that moment. Sounds like He answered your prayers to be used. Thanks for sharing.

  • Ann

    Oh, to see the hand of God at work is such an awesome thing 🙂 I know He is always there but sometimes He just shines out brighter. Love the happy ending. God is good. He is the giver of new beginnings and happy endings. Amen? Blessings!

  • g.

    This is a very wonderful story, and proves that God will give us opportunities to serve Him, if we will only ask. Thank you, Rene, for asking Him to use you. It also proves that we humans are fallible, and able to make mistakes, and sometimes big ones. I am thankful that you and that other lady were there to help the one who made the mistake.
    I will ask God to use me today. Thank you for your example.
    luv, g.

    • Rene Yoshi

      Aww, thank you, g. Yes, we are all fallible. God doesn’t always use me when I ask Him to, at least not always in a way that is obvious, but it’s not about me anyway, right? It’s about Him and His amazing grace and love. 🙂

  • Toni Sprandel

    What a beautiful story! Love, grace and mercy abounding! Thank you for sharing this!

  • Caddo-Jael

    Oh Rene, this one made me cry. There are so many stories like this that don’t end well–and I’m so glad you were there to offer grace and mercy to the poor grammie. Bless her dear heart, I dare say she’s probably going to feel this for a good while–those of us who make innocent mistakes tend to beat ourselves up badly; so again, I’m thankful you were there to be Jesus for her. God bless you–love, sis Caddo

Leave a Reply

