Wisdom Wednesday: My Enemy

Image

Photo credit: constantin jurcut
(http://www.sxc.hu/photo/853547)

Have you ever taken someone’s advice only to regret it later?  Sometimes what sounds like wisdom isn’t really wise.  My son, Max, said in a recent sermon based on James 3:13-18, “Wisdom does not dwell in the heart of one who is controlled by emotion.”

A Chinese proverb says, “If thine enemy wrong thee, buy each of his children a drum.”  You laughed, didn’t you?  I did.

Jesus Christ said, “Ye have heard that it hath been said, ‘Thou shalt love thy neighbour, and hate thine enemy.’  But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you;  That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust.  For if ye love them which love you, what reward have ye?”  (Matthew 5:43-46a)

Not only did Jesus say it, but He did it and set the example by loving us when we were yet His enemies (Romans 5:10).

Abraham Lincoln, 16th U.S. president said, “Do I not destroy my enemies when I make them my friends?”   Sounds much wiser than giving each of their children war drums, don’tcha think?

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

23 responses to “Wisdom Wednesday: My Enemy

  • Especially Made

    Great post! The Chinese proverb made me smile too because my kids have been the recipient of too many noise-making toys from the grandparents that I wondered if that’s their payback for the grief we’ve caused them when we were younger.

    • Rene Yoshi

      LOL…. Although I don’t mind the noise-making toys too much, I have often heard people joke about getting them for their grandchildren or nieces and nephews, so it made me smile, too. Thank you! ((hugs))

  • Valarie

    I love to read your posts. They always encourage my heart! Bless you today, friend.

    • Rene Yoshi

      Aww, thank you, Valarie! Yours encourage my heart, too. I’m doing VBS with our church this week, so I’m behind, but I do plan to catch up! Blessings to you, too, friend. ((hugs))

  • Randell Bell

    Yes and Jesus reconciled us when we were at war with God-we were God’s enemy-He was not ours-yet because of His grace and mercy- His Son sacrificed himself that we would become His friend, His people and His children. Thanks Rene one of your best. 🙂

  • gwennonr

    Dear Rene,

    This was an amazing post and I really enjoyed reading it. i would like your permission to reblog it in August, along with another of your recent Wisdom Wednesday blogs, if you wouldn’t mind.

    Your writings encourage me greatly, and I thank God for you and pray that He richly blesses you.

    Best Regards,

    GwennonR

    • Rene Yoshi

      I am blessed that some of my posts have been an encouragement to you, and I would be honored to have you reblog them. Thank you so much for your encouragement! 🙂

  • g.

    Sweets,
    I really loved this one! The Chinese proverb was wonderful, and shows that humor and wisdom permeate all cultures, and are inherent in all people groups. People really are all the same, everywhere.
    I had never heard that quote from my favorite president, Mr. Lincoln, before. If only today’s leaders had HIS wisdom. Perhaps they would have it, if they followed God’s word, as he did.

    luv,
    g.

  • Katherine

    Rene, I have a son named Max too. He has a blog Something Sacred. He wants to be a minister too. I can see where your son gets his wisdom: from the same place his mom does, the Bible. Great post!

    • Rene Yoshi

      That is so cool! My son started a blog, but being a young father with a second baby girl, and trying to write a book, as well as working a full-time job as the sole financial provider for his family, the blog is lower on the priority list. I’ll have to look up your son’s blog sometime. Thank you! 🙂

  • jaels

    This makes me think of the years when I sought advice from numbers of people, and only reaped more confusion about what I should do. This was long before I understood I could go straight to God–and that even if I “heard wrong”, He was more than capable and faithful to redirect me. God bless you today–enjoy VBS!

  • Jennifer

    Love this post! Though, I honestly am tempted by the Chinese proverb. I mean, if you give the kids drums, you’ve driven your enemy crazy in their own house. 😉 No, no! That’s not the right thing to do! But, the image in my mind made me laugh.

    • Rene Yoshi

      [chuckle] Then the enemy can’t think straight, right? Although the proverb can be seen merely as revenge, I guess a bit of wisdom can be found in it. To give gifts to children, not only touches them, but can touch the hearts of their parents as well, right? And the parents won’t want to take the gift away lest they makes themselves enemies to their children as well, and you become their child’s ally! LOL… Hmmm… might have to rethink this one. [wink]

  • Sweet Friday Feature | heavenlyraindrops

    […] Follow this link to a recent Wisdom Wednesday […]

  • Tienny

    Sweet Rains, 🙂 thank you for liking my artwork and hope you like my other artworks

Leave a Reply

