Daddy, I Love You

Love Written in Sand

I have a confession to make.  While browsing some songs to add to my music collection yesterday, I came across one by Phil King called Daddy, I Love You.  I had a sense the Daddy it was speaking of was God, our Father.  The word Daddy is so much more intimate than Father, and although I have thought of God as Daddy-God, I couldn’t get myself to buy the song until tonight after hearing a sermon preached by my second son about true peace.  I do love my heavenly Father, but to say, “Daddy, I love You,” so intimately and as innocently and genuinely as a child would say it, just seemed… well, somewhat disingenuous.

I have written often about God’s expressions of love toward me and how grateful I am for His love.  I know His love is perfect, and mine is imperfect.  I know He knows my frame and my weaknesses, and His tender loving kindness is so patient.  But I know my own heart, too.  I don’t love Him as much as I wish I did.  I don’t always do what I know I should.   Sometimes I even do what I know I shouldn’t.  I don’t always put Him first in my life or reach out my hand to grab His.  Sometimes I reach for something or someone else.  While it’s true, as the song says, that no one could ever be who He is to me, I don’t always act like that’s true.  But I want to.  I don’t always give up lesser things to have what is best.  But I want to.  So as the song says, my prayer is:

Share Your heart and make me wise
Shape my thoughts and form my mind
Make me loving, brave and true
Grow me up to be just like You…

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

11 responses to “Daddy, I Love You

  • Caddo

    Very touching indeed, Rene. God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

  • g.

    Phil King’s song is beautiful, but no more beautiful than your words, Sweets. We had company tonight, or I would have been with you to hear that sermon from your son.
    I have never expressed the word ‘Daddy’ to God, and don’t know if I can do that. But, without reservation, I do love him as my God, and my Father. I don’t think that calling out to Him as Daddy is really disingenuous, although that is a question of an individual’s heart. It, just, to me, seems to somehow express a position a bit lower than the awe-inspiring reverence that He deserves. But that feeling on my part might be a reflection of the legalism I have been subjected to over the years. \
    I do not now that God does not want us to think of him as Daddy. I do know that He is our loving father. When I was young, I called my earthly, loving father Daddy.

    This is a very interesting topic. Thank you for sharing it, my precious friend.
    g.

    • Rene Yoshi

      Aww, thank you, g. That Max preached was a last minute thing, and I know if you didn’t have company, you would have been there.

      I know what you mean about calling God ‘Daddy’ can seem to express a position a bit lower than the awe-inspiring reverence He deserves, but when you think about your own children, which would you rather have? Only an expression of reverence in them calling you Father, or hearing them call you Daddy, knowing it expresses both respect and love— an intimate respect and love borne of knowing you? Most scholars believe when Jesus referred to the Father as ‘Abba’ when He was teaching the disciples how to pray and when He Himself prayed in the garden, it was the same as calling Him ‘Daddy’. If that’s how Jesus taught His disciples to pray, I think we can confidently go before the throne and approach the Father as Daddy, too. Thank you, again, g. ((hug))

  • Randell Bell

    Christ was God’s highest expression of love for us and seeing Christ in us is our highest expresion of love for Him 🙂

  • Geraldine Van Biljon

    Oh my word – I cried through the whole song Rene! Shew, my heart feels like it could explode!

  • heavenlyraindrops

    Thanks for sharing this song, Rene. Simply beautiful expression of love for the Father.

Leave a Reply

