Grown Up Prayer

The video in this blog post is eye-opening and the post itself insightful. This could change what you think about prayer and your relationship with Jesus.

Kingsgrass

“When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child.  (and yes, I prayed like a child).   When I became a man I put childish ways behind me.”  1 Cor 13: 11

There are several spiritual gray hairs of maturity: love, patience, forgiveness…and many others, but prayer is maybe the most obvious sign of growth.  You wouldn’t think it would be that hard to mature in but it is not as easy as moving from “now I lay me down to sleep” to the “PRAY” acronym.  (P-Praise R-Repent A-Ask for others Y-Yourself).

I consider myself an older teenager when it comes to prayer.  I am not quite a child anymore, I think I know more than I do and my practice of it often feels not fully developed.  I am comfortable in the ‘grown up’ world but I still revert back to childishness at times.  Prayer for…

View original post 1,093 more words

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

2 responses to “Grown Up Prayer

  • Randell Bell

    Just an observation:

    1. Prayer is our petition to God but praise is our adoration of God. Prayer asks something of God but praise gives something to God. (Praise Him for creation) If we spent more time in praise we probably wouldn’t spend so much time in prayer.
    2. We should never underestimate the power of prayer especially where two or more are praying. When we pray in accordance with His will we are releasing the power of God and the strength of God’s Word
    3. Prayer is one of the believer’s most powerful tools, but it is also one of the most underused or when we do use it we use it incorrectly. James 4: 2 ye have not, because ye ask not.3 Ye ask, and receive not, because ye ask amiss,

    • Rene Yoshi

      Wonderful observation. Since watching the video, I have been spending more time praising and thanking the Lord. It’s not that I never did before, but I am more aware of how I am communicating with Him when I bring petitions before His throne. Thank you, Randell. 🙂

Leave a Reply

