The Son Of God Movie – Another Jesus, Another Gospel?

I saw the movie, and although it contained parts that pleasantly surprised me, other things that were both included and omitted disturbed me. I think it helps to know what is the worldview of the producers, because it can give some idea as to the movie’s purpose.  I think it was to portray Jesus as very loving, compassionate, and even winsome while still displaying righteous anger.   I hope those who watch it are moved to explore the Bible for themselves and learn the whole truth about Jesus and the Gospel.

Media 4 Life Ministries

Mark-Burnett-Roma-Downey Are you excited about what many call the “Epic Christian Movie” Son of God?

A lot of professing Christians are flocking to the theaters to watch this movie, produced by Mark Burnett and his wife Roma Downey.  Social Media, Magazines and the Web are filled with either articles or reviews about the film. Many Christian leaders hail this movie and many churches have jumped onto the bandwagon. If you are planning on watching this movie, or already have, I would urge you to view the movie with great discernment.

I’m not writing this to judge or condemn anybody who watches this movie. I just have some concerns about the movie and the producers Mark Burnett and Roma Downey. I have done some research after reading several articles about this couple, who claim to be Christians, but are in reality, full fletched “New Agers”

Roma Downey, a devout Roman Catholic, along…

View original post 613 more words

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

16 responses to “The Son Of God Movie – Another Jesus, Another Gospel?

  • Susan Irene Fox

    Rene, I have read a few of the articles condemning Mark Burnett and Roma Downey. I personally had the privilege of seeing Mark Burnett in an interview about the movie, and I can tell you he is a Christian. He wept as he spoke about his love for Jesus. He and his wife are both followers of Jesus.

    Their intent with the movie, as with the series, The Bible, was to introduce the gospel to millions who may not otherwise have been open to it in the hopes they would explore further.

    To those who condemn them, I say, please read the words of Jesus. We are to love, we are to gather together in unity. Our job is not to vilify other believers. How sad it is that after these thousands of years we still seek to take out the splinter in someone’s eyes without removing the log in our own.

    • Rene Yoshi

      I appreciate your input. I have not seen an interview with them, and I did edit my original intro/commentary to the reblog to say, “I saw the movie, and although it contained parts that pleasantly surprised me, other things that were both included and omitted disturbed me. I think it helps to know what is the worldview of the producers, because it can give some idea as to the movie’s purpose. I think it was to portray Jesus as very loving, compassion, and even winsome while still displaying righteous anger. I hope those who watch it are moved to explore the Bible for themselves and learn the whole truth about Jesus and the Gospel.”

      I do not think every movie labeled ‘Christian’ has to contain a solid, verbal Gospel message, any more than I think every song labeled ‘Christian’ has to be worship songs only to be played or sung during a church service. For anyone who is familiar with the Bible or Jewish/Old Testament symbolism, the Gospel can be clearly seen in the movie. I just wouldn’t recommend it anyone because of things that were either added or omitted beyond simple dramatic license and leave me asking, “Why?”

      • Susan Irene Fox

        I did appreciate your approach to this, Rene, and I should have stated that in my reply. It was directed toward the vitriolic condemnation of the producers, not to you. I think the “why” can be answered because it was directed to a mass audience in the hopes of drawing them closer to a God who wants them in His family. It was meant for the unsaved.

        I didn’t necessarily like every detail of the movie either; but I thought the primary message was strong. That’s why I would recommend it.

      • Rene Yoshi

        Thank you, Susan. I have read other articles, both pro and con, and I agree that some truly are vitriolic and saw things in the movie that were not there. That really saddens me. I posted the reblog, although I wasn’t keen on its title, because I do think it’s important to know if the producers are mixing New Age philosophies in with their Christian beliefs, and because I felt the overall feeling of the article was to ask the question, “Is this another gospel?” If the perceived ‘good news’ was simply that Jesus came to change the world, then yes, that is a different gospel than the one Jesus gave. He came to reconcile us to God, and like I said in my previous response, I think for those who are familiar with the Bible and Jewish / Old Testament symbolism, that was clearly represented.

        Thanks again, Susan! 😀

  • Randell Bell

    Films like this one and others like Jesus of Nazareth or The Bible Series are good for giving people a visualization to help them understand or encourage them to read the Bible, and just like a devotional book can help inspire you, and lift you up, it is not a substitute for God’s Word. I personally like these types of shows, but I always remember that man, and especially Hollywood are fallible, but the Word of God is not. I hope unbelievers will see it and embrace Jesus Christ, and that believers will see it, and seek a closer personal relationship with Him.

  • Jennifer

    I haven’t seen the movie yet. I think I will see it, but I’m not sure I need to see it in the theater. So many mixed reviews on it make it challenging. At least you mention the pleasant surprises (thanks for not spoiling it). I would be interested in hearing what you thought was omitted…

    • Rene Yoshi

      I don’t want to spoil the movie for anyone, but one ‘minor’ thing that comes to mind is there were no angels at the tomb. Considering Roma’s stint in Touched By an Angel, I find that interesting. Not only that, but wouldn’t including angels be more dramatic? The reason I say ‘minor’ is because it doesn’t really change the portrayal of Jesus. If you have read or heard other reviews, you have most likely heard about Mary’s prominent role. I wish the producers had included more women than just Mary, and I wonder why they had her go to the tomb without the other women.

  • heavenlyraindrops

    Rene, thanks for your boldness in posting this, and for the link. I have the same concerns. My prayer is that the Holy Spirit will draw others irregardless and like you said, they will seek the truth of who Jesus really is from Scripture.
    Blessings

  • Tienny

    Rene, of course we need to read the Bible ourselves 🙂

    >

  • Sella Irene | BeautifulWords

    I never heard about their movie 😦
    But this post has gave me information. And i think as a good Christians, we should be wary of anything that we see and hear, and shall always look back to the truth of God’s Word.
    Thank you for sharing 🙂 Bless you

Leave a Reply

