Hosanna!

Hosanna! Blessed is He Who comes in the name of the Lord! In light of Palm Sunday, I thought I would reblog a post from two years ago that although not originally posted for either Palm Sunday or Resurrection Day, fits the occasion.

Sweet Rains

Image “Did ‘Mimi’ teach you to do that?” my son wondered aloud as he watched his twenty-month-old daughter raise her hands as she sang along with Steve Green’s Hosanna , a song from his album Hide ‘em In Your Heart .  After realizing how much my granddaughter loved the song, I’d given her the cassette tape my son, himself, had listened to as a child.  I remember the first time I played the tape for her and how amazed I was when she raised her hands upon first hearing that song.  Y’see, although we’ve had a diversity of worship experiences, for more than a decade we’ve worshiped in Baptist churches, and Baptists generally do not raise their hands.  Why?  Baptists are taught that raising ones hands can lend itself to being showy, distracting, and prideful.  So when I saw Gracie so freely and spontaneously raise her hands to Hosanna , I…

View original post 149 more words

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

2 responses to “Hosanna!

Leave a Reply

