Divine Intervention and a Lesson in Logic

IMG_0905 sun.halo_smw

A recent conversation with a friend concerning my blog post about anonymously receiving a large bouquet of balloons reminded me of a joke I had once heard from a preacher. The friend asked if I really believed the gift of balloons was the result of divine intervention as I had expressed in the post.

“Yes,” I confidently replied, then told him the joke.

There was a Christian lady who lived next door to an atheist. Whenever the atheist overheard the lady pray, he would mutter to himself that there is no God, and sometimes he would argue with her.

One day she ran out of groceries, and the atheist overheard her praying. “I’ll fix her,” he thought to himself, and he went out and bought bags of groceries, set them on her front porch, rang the doorbell and hid to see what she would do.

When she opened the door and saw the groceries, she shouted, “God did it! God did it! God did it! Thank you, Jesus!”

He jumped out and shouted, “God didn’t do it! I did! I bought those groceries and put them on your porch! See? There is no God!”

The lady started laughing and dancing and praising the Lord.

“Didn’t you hear me?” the atheist asked. “I bought those groceries!”

“I heard you,” she said. “I knew the Lord was gonna provide, but I didn’t know He was gonna make you pay for ‘em!”

Something recently said by a different preacher made me think of another joke. Well, not so much a joke as a cute analogy. The preacher had quoted the first part of James 4:8, which says, “Draw nigh to God, and He will draw nigh to you.” Unfortunately, he made a logical fallacy by stating that the contraposition must then be true— that if we draw away from God, then He will draw away from us.   So here’s the analogy:

A young man asked a girl out on a date. She accepted, and when he picked her up in his pickup truck, she sat as close to him as she could. They eventually got married, and they continued sitting close together. As the years went by, a space developed between them until one day, the wife lamented that they didn’t seem to be as close as they once were. The husband replied, “Well, honey, I ain’t the one who moved.”

The story reminds me of the parable of the prodigal son, who asked for his inheritance ahead of time, moved to the city, squandered it, and sought to return home as a servant and no longer as a son. All the time he was away, the father prayed and waited for his son’s return, and when he finally did, the father threw a huge party.

The father didn’t move.

It also reminds me of Romans 5:8, “But God commendeth His love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”

If God draws away from us when we draw away from Him, He never would have pursued us nor sought to reveal Himself to us so that we could have a relationship with Him. Divine intervention? Yes!!

 

If you liked this, you might also like… Love Sometimes Comes in Waves

Fathers.Love.diptych_sm

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

22 responses to “Divine Intervention and a Lesson in Logic

  • CIC

    Beautiful (and cute) reflection. When I converted to Christianity I was taught that when we sin we turn our backs on God, but He never, ever turns His back on us. That thought always helps me return when I stray.

  • Randell Bell

    I love the analogy of the couple in the truck. It is so true that misconceptions or preconceptions about God hinder a personal relationship with a God who yearns to know us on a more personal level, not that He is not all knowing but a relationship requires two parties who are in agreement with each other and with the same goal in mind. God has given us His written Word so that we may know Him better and draw closer to Him, but it is just the tip of the iceberg. To know Him means we must spend time with Him, but when we don’t, He doesn’t abandon us and move on to the next person. And as for the atheist well these scriptures come to mind. –
    Romans 11:33: “O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out!” (KJV)
    Isa.55: 8 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.
    Great one Rene
    🙂

  • Doug

    That’s funny Rene, thanks for sharing

  • Tienny The Storyteller

    May I know the atheist’s reaction towards her reactions? Is the atheist baffled?

  • daniellajoe

    Very lovely post, thank God for His steadfast love 🙂

  • Ralph

    Hi Rene 😀 Great jokes ! I received this one last week from a South African friend I met in Jerusalem. Have a lovely week my friend. ❤

    "A woman had just returned to her home from an evening of church services, when she was startled by an intruder. She caught the man in the act of robbing her home of its valuables and yelled: 'Stop! Acts 2:38!' (Repent and be Baptized, in the name of Jesus Christ, so that your sins may be forgiven.)

    The burglar stopped in his tracks. The woman calmly called the police and explained what she had done.

    As the officer cuffed the man to take him in, he asked the burglar: 'Why did you just stand there? All the old lady did was yell a scripture to you.'
    'Scripture?' replied the burglar. 'She said she had an Ax and Two 38's!'"

  • Hubert writes

    Hi Rene’ A bit off topic but do you realize that you have captured a perfect image of a Chemtrail, ‘side to side vapour trail above the sun’, and the effects of chemtrails in our atmosphere, ‘the circles around the sun’.

    If you google Geo-engeneering, Chemtrails, or Silver oxide chemtrails you’ll soon see what I mean

    If not just disregard my message and God Bless you.

    HR

  • dbp49

    Hello Rene, I was wondering if you heard this one. During a flood, the rescue workers are going around in boats saving people who are stranded on the roofs of their homes. When they come to this one lady, however, she tells the man in the rowboat that it’s alright, he can leave, because she’s prayed to God, and since she’s been a perfect Christian all her life, she knows He’ll save her. A little later another rowboat arrives, the water is already up to the woman’s waist, they tell her to get in and they’ll take her to higher ground, but again she refuses and says God is going to save her. The third time, it’s a helicopter that comes, and the water is up to her neck. Again, they tell her to grab the rope, and they’ll pull her up, and take her to higher ground, but again, she refuses, saying she knows God will save her.The helicopter leaves, the water continues to rise, and the woman drowns. When she gets to Heaven, she sees Jesus and she runs up to Him and says, “What happened, I was a perfect Christian all my life, and when I prayed to You to save me, You let me drown. How come? I don’t understand.” Jesus looks at her, and says, “I sent you two boats and a helicopter, what more did you want?”

Leave a Reply

