Bombs Away!

Image

Yesterday I went up into the woods behind our house and sat on the tree fort our kids used to play on when they were young.  I needed to get away to confirm and think about something that had been said… something hurtful.  As I sat, I looked up and blinked away the tears to see this tiny heart in the bark of the tree.  God so often seems to come through and remind me that I am loved when I least expect it but need it most.

I wasn’t able to get a picture of the heart then, because I didn’t have my camera with me, and I had a commitment to which I had to attend.  But I went back this morning to capture the expression of God’s love to me.

As I was trying to get a good clear shot, I heard a squirrel scurrying and chattering in the branches above.  All of a sudden, I saw something fall and heard a thump.  I didn’t really think much of it until I saw another something fall, and I realized it was a pine cone.  “Hey!  Are you trying to hit me?” I called up into the tree.  The squirrel chattered again and another pine cone fell, and then another right behind me.  I felt the whoosh, it was so close!  “Hey!  Ok, I get the hint!  I’m almost done.  Just one more shot.”

The squirrel chattered again.  I love God’s sense of humor.  Thank you, Lord, for making me smile.

“A merry heart doeth good like a medicine…”  —Proverbs 17:22  KJV

About Rene Yoshi

Just a transplanted Okinawan-French Southern girl with a wee bit o' Irish, sharing photography and what I'm learning about spiritual things, including putting off legalism and religious traditions, and embracing God's matchless love, tender mercy, and amazing grace! View all posts by Rene Yoshi

5 responses to “Bombs Away!

Leave a comment